Found a new addiction

New? Say G'Day here!
Richmc
Apprentice
kayak: Tamar fishing kayak

Found a new addiction

Post by Richmc »

Hi guys I'm a newbie
Me and a mate hired a few kayaks the other week. Went out at flinders was a bit scared at first but got out and tied up the anchor and was sweet. But had a bit of a problem with my anchor tying, I hadn't left enough slack in the rope so when it started to get a bit wavey instead of rolling with the waves I got pulled over Scared the living day lights out of me. But only lost a bit of tackle and some pliers. Still had a great day caught a few fish.
image.jpeg
image.jpeg (27 KiB) Viewed 2538 times
So Decided to have another go next day went to blind night. We had a by more trouble getting out was very windy we set our anchor down and threw the rods out. Thought I was get heaps on ni bless but turned around to see we were being dragged into the trees it was just my line being dragged along the ground. So we decided to head back to founder try our luck again had an even better day caught a heap of reef fish not 100% sure what they were tried googling think they were a wrasse or something, got a few leather jackets 20cm plus and caught my first ever King George whitening 40cm
image.jpeg
image.jpeg (26.9 KiB) Viewed 2538 times
So was a great day apart from getting very sunburnt. I went straight home and started looking on gumtree to buy one.
Picked my first kayak up last night so now it begins
image.jpeg
image.jpeg (54.65 KiB) Viewed 2538 times
Digger
Vyak Addict
kayak: Tinny, Piers anywhere I can!

Re: Found a new addiction

Post by Digger »

Hi & welcome.

I suggest you read our safety information available on Board Index.
Hammertime
Lord of the fish
kayak: 2015 Yellow Outback

Post by Hammertime »

Welcome to the world of Kayak fishing Richard.

Sounds like you've hit been bitten by the same bug we all have.