Any suggestions for Fishing from Cowes at Phillip Island?

Questions new members commonly ask e.g. Which kayak should I buy?
ChirnsideYakker
Apprentice
kayak: Yes

Any suggestions for Fishing from Cowes at Phillip Island?

Post by ChirnsideYakker »

G’day,
I’m pretty new to kayaking and have been out a couple of times in Port Phillip Bay for a paddle and fish. My partner and I have a Seabird Expedition and Discovery kayak, with one rod holder each. It’s certainly a challenge when we get a fish, but we manage to get them in. We’re heading to Cowes at Phillip Island for the Labour Day long weekend and are after any hints about were to launch and go for a fish safely.

Regards,
Robert
Fish Grylls
Square eyes
kayak: hobie revo

Re: Any suggestions for Fishing from Cowes at Phillip Island

Post by Fish Grylls »

You can launch from the Cowes yacht club carpark or the Cowes Anderson Rd boat ramp. Lots of little paths down many of the beach roads if you want to roll your kayak from your accom. Just go for a walk and check them out first. If you troll a soft plastic or a lure close to shore you are a good chance for salmon and pike. Also plenty of squid on the usual colours of jigs. Also whiting if you are planning to anchor. Tide generally runs faster the further you go from shore.
Good luck, Hope you don't end up being a racing buoy for the jet skis.
ChirnsideYakker
Apprentice

Thanks for the advice. Certainly got sick of Jet Skis at Rye during the Australia Day long weekend...
cheaterparts
Needs a life (forum tragic)
kayak: Stealth Profisha 525 ---

Post by cheaterparts »

ChirnsideYakker wrote:G’day,