It is currently 27 Jan 2021, 04:48

setting up lowrance to battery

Questions new members commonly ask e.g. Which kayak should I buy?

setting up lowrance to battery

Postby thelastreject » 25 Nov 2020, 11:28

Hello everyone!

I just got a fish finder for my kayak. A Lowrance Hook2 4x from BCF.
I thought it would be pretty easy to set up, so I bought a 12 volt battery (from BCF) and connected the cable to the battery and into the unit itself but the unit won't turn on.
I took it back to BCF who said that I have to split the cable and solder in the fuse box adapter (included in the box) to the cable.

The guy seemed friendly but a bit uncertain so I'm unsure if what he was telling me was true.

Does anyone have any experience with these units? do I have to solder the fuse box into the cable? If so, why isn't it already part of the cable?
I don't want to go to the effort of splitting the cable and soldering the fuse box in if the unit itself is faulty and I've now voided my warranty.

Any help would be greatly received!
thelastreject
Apprentice
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 17 Nov 2014, 14:38
kayak: Basic pedal drive kayak with L plates
Real Name: Dave

Re: setting up lowrance to battery

Postby thelastreject » 25 Nov 2020, 13:52

All good!

Took to the marine tech up the road, he patched the fuse in and it's working a treat.
Still not sure why they don't just come attached with the fuse. c'est la vie...
thelastreject
Apprentice
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 17 Nov 2014, 14:38
kayak: Basic pedal drive kayak with L plates
Real Name: Dave

Re: setting up lowrance to battery

Postby peatop » 25 Nov 2020, 14:12

it's like everything you buy these days you buy the product then have to buy the extras to make it work, if people keep putting up with it, it will only get worse :wtf:
Mob no: 0401580668
Yak PBs kingfish (about this big <>>><), squid 39 cm, king george 42 cm, snapper 72 cm, gummy 122 cm, 71cm flatty (estimated )do we count toadies?
><(((*> J
<*)))><
peatop
PHD in Yakology.
 
Posts: 2686
Joined: 17 Sep 2017, 19:34
Location: Clifton springs
kayak: Dragon pro, lovig maverick and dune PA14
Real Name: Peter

Re: setting up lowrance to battery

Postby Reeling » 25 Nov 2020, 14:17

Glad you got it sorted.

I'm a little confused by why it wouldnt work without a Fuse. All the fuse is doing is ensuring protection of the unit against fluctuations in current that may damage the unit.

I ran my Lowrance Hook2 unit without a fuse for the best part of 2yrs
Tuna 20.5kg ---Snapper 84cm --- Gummy 83cm (55cm legal) ---- Whiting 40cm --- Silver Trevelly 41cm --- Flathead 52cm --- Aussie Salmon 38cm --- Squid 34cm hood

Facebook Page Reeling Fish
Instagram Page Reeling Fish
User avatar
Reeling
Lord of the fish
 
Posts: 1055
Joined: 22 Nov 2016, 20:20
Location: Altona
kayak: Stealth PF 525
Real Name: Nath

Re: setting up lowrance to battery

Postby laneends » 26 Nov 2020, 08:36

If thats all they did to get it to work then I suggest that one of your connections was not good. The fuse doesnt add anything, other than a few more connections that might be dodgy. It is there to protect your unit in case of battery shorting. Unit works fine without it, its just not protected

Welcome to the world of dodgy sounder connections, its part of your future, especially when the marine environment gets to them
User avatar
laneends
Vyak Addict
 
Posts: 6625
Joined: 25 Jan 2013, 15:59
Location: Melbourne, Bundoora
kayak: Quests 11 13 Adventure 16 Revo 16 ORSki epic k1
Real Name: Keith

Re: setting up lowrance to battery

Postby thelastreject » 26 Nov 2020, 08:51

Yeah, that's why I posted the question. It didn't make any sense to me.

But it's working now and hopefully, the weather is good and I'll get it out tomorrow!!
thelastreject
Apprentice
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 17 Nov 2014, 14:38
kayak: Basic pedal drive kayak with L plates
Real Name: Dave


Return to Newbie Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron