Total noob says hello

New? Say G'Day here!
Fishbee
kayak: Fishing kayak

Total noob says hello

Post by Fishbee »

As title says. :wave1:
Here's my story.

We went to wodonga for a holiday, we saw an ad for murray river kayak adventure, signed myself and my 3 boys on for a 1.5 hr session on the murray.
Rented 2 double yaks and the owner took us upstream and when i thought that the owner would come in the water as a guide......he just told me to follow the river back to the ramp after asking us whether we can swim or not???
This was my first time on a yak!.. after going around all over the place, me and my 8 yo boy finally managed to sync our paddling.. :yahoo: and off we go.

Long story short..we overtook all in the groups and caught up with my 2 other boys on their yak. Just that, on the last bend before the ramp they got caught in the tree and took a drink....they couldn't turn their yak over and i was far away to be of any assistance. We were lucky that someone swam over and help the boys to turn their yak upright and help them climb back on....what a hero!

Looking back to the experience... if we weren't a little panicky, we should've push the yak onto the banks and turn it upright there...

That was 2 weeks ago and now I'm waiting for my first yak to be delivered :o

Already watched so many vids on yaks and safety, found this forum whilst browsing, signed up today and now just waiting on trying it out for real. :mrgreen: hopefully soon!

Thanks for reading my long story
Seasherpa
PHD in Yakology.
kayak: Lots of composite ones

Re: Total noob says hello

Post by Seasherpa »

Welcome aboard, lots of good info in the safety section of the forum to get you started. Where are you hoping to do your fishing?
Fishbee

Post by Fishbee »

Thanks sherpa.. iam going to try some lakes first.. get use to the yak and all fishing gears etc. Practice some rolling and re entry and maybe try the bay on a good day with mates once i got more confident.