Another newbie!

New? Say G'Day here!
Hardyakn
kayak: Nextgen 10

Another newbie!

Post by Hardyakn »

G'day everyone,

I'm Ewen, and I'm a complete newb to both kayaking and salt water fishing.
I've just recently purchased what I think was the best value for money yak that I could afford (hobbies ect are worth more than my car) I ended up with a Nextgen 10 from an internet vendor. It's not the greatest but it gets me out on the water so I'll make do for the time being . It has the elevated seat, retractable rudder, and track system as standard. I've been slowly collecting bits and pieces anchor and trolley making leashes ect ect .

I took it out for the first time last week and landed a small salmon on a gold lure ( my first fish on a lure- in a yak and with new rod)

Previously I'd only every fished the Murray and Eildon other than taking the kids to the peir once or twice ..

I'm based in blindbight but the old man is in Rawson so I'll be hitting Blue Rock as the weather gets better .

I'll be asking questions along the way especially regarding lures and rod/reel types as I have no idea.

I'm always up for an adventure so if anyone is planning one and might suit me please hit me up ..

Cheers E..
Galey
Lord of the fish
kayak: Ok Frenzy

Re: Another newbie!

Post by Galey »

Well done mate. Check out the safety section, you only get one life and get into it.
Hardyakn
kayak: Nextgen 10

Post by Hardyakn »

Already on it galey .. pdf, flag, flares, and I have a handheld VHF if I do venture out of the estries ... Only thing I need is sutible thermals and some winter gear that won't drag me down..
Widsa
Site Admin
kayak: Wavedance Kingfisher

Post by Widsa »

Welcome aboard mate, congratts on the Sambo.
Tight lines and enjoy you stay.
Somebody just back of you while you are fishing is as bad as someone looking over your shoulder while you write a letter to your girl. ~Ernest Hemingway
Reeling
Lord of the fish
kayak: Stealth PF 525

Post by Reeling »