It is currently 14 Nov 2018, 09:30

Blank canvas is no longer blank (pic heavy)

Show off your DIY project!

Blank canvas is no longer blank (pic heavy)

Postby inshorebrawler » 03 Nov 2018, 16:42

Here are some of the stealth mods that I have carried out on the Supalite X, with Eoin helping me along the way.
1. Removed the ankle straps.
2. Added the new hatch with a Garmin striker.
3. Tighten the rudder controls bungees and relocated.
4. Upgraded hatch straps
5. Added ram mounts in front of the hatch , prototype will have to see about positioning.
6. Transducer mounted externally
IMG_20181028_174234379_HDR-1560x2080.jpg

7. Garmin installed offset to gain some real estate to the side of options later on.
Attachments
IMG_20181028_124315005-1560x2080.jpg
IMG_20181028_174050324-1560x2080.jpg
IMG_20181028_174138859-1560x2080.jpg
IMG_20181103_145036878-1248x1664.jpg
IMG_20181103_153957632_HDR-1248x1664.jpg
IMG_20181103_153942919-1248x1664.jpg
0401314820
My name is Frank and I'm addicted to Hobies.
User avatar
inshorebrawler
Lord of the fish
 
Posts: 1117
Joined: 18 Jan 2015, 01:45
Location: Sunbury
kayak: Dune AI, stealth Supalite X
Real Name: Frank

Re: Blank canvas is no longer blank (pic heavy)

Postby peatop » 03 Nov 2018, 17:22

Looking good Frank, i like your idea for the transducer mount :up:
Mob no: 0401580668
Yak PBs king george 42 cm, snapper 72 cm, gummy 122 cm, do we count toadies?
peatop
Lord of the fish
 
Posts: 1276
Joined: 17 Sep 2017, 19:34
Location: Clifton springs
kayak: Dragon pro, lovig maverick and dune PA14
Real Name: Peter

Re: Blank canvas is no longer blank (pic heavy)

Postby laneends » 03 Nov 2018, 18:32

How is the transducer bracket attached to hull, bolted or otherwise?
User avatar
laneends
Vyak Addict
 
Posts: 6075
Joined: 25 Jan 2013, 15:59
Location: Melbourne, Bundoora
kayak: Red Quest 13, Ivory Quest 11,Ivory Revo 16
Real Name: Keith

Re: Blank canvas is no longer blank (pic heavy)

Postby Seasherpa » 03 Nov 2018, 19:50

laneends wrote:How is the transducer bracket attached to hull, bolted or otherwise?


GoPro mount Keith, can unclip and store it in the fish hatch for launches. Even if the mount detaches during normal use the tranny is still attached via the cable so it has a built in tether and can't get lost.
Image
User avatar
Seasherpa
PHD in Yakology.
 
Posts: 2670
Joined: 28 Sep 2012, 11:31
Location: Newport
kayak: Lots of glass ones
Real Name: Eoin (Owen)

Re: Blank canvas is no longer blank (pic heavy)

Postby inshorebrawler » 03 Nov 2018, 20:59

laneends wrote:How is the transducer bracket attached to hull, bolted or otherwise?


I have configured a heap of go-pro attachments so it sits pretty. The transducer is detachable using the go-pro style base plate, this is so i can take it on and off when on the water. Once I have trialled it I will use a surfboard mount as it has a wider surface area.

I have also placed a base plate next to the sounder so I can mount it there when on the move or when in shallow waters.
0401314820
My name is Frank and I'm addicted to Hobies.
User avatar
inshorebrawler
Lord of the fish
 
Posts: 1117
Joined: 18 Jan 2015, 01:45
Location: Sunbury
kayak: Dune AI, stealth Supalite X
Real Name: Frank


Return to DIY Section

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests