BUYING A KAYAK

Questions new members commonly ask e.g. Which kayak should I buy?
FISHKEEN
kayak: None

BUYING A KAYAK

Post by FISHKEEN »

Hi

We are complete newbies !! In our 50s and my husband is an extremely keen fisherman. Friends told us a little bit of kayak fishing. We are interested but do not know where to start apart from the fact we should buy a stable Hobie or any other kayak that both of us can go out in. Life jackets. A trailer to pull it etc etc. Should we buy a new or secondhand kayak ? Buy it in now and practice during winter to get ready for next summer ? Lots of silly questions but we would really like to know.
Would appreciate some advise or direction as to where we could have a look at kayaks etc. Thanks
rayso
Qualified Fish Monger
kayak: Adventure Island

Re: BUYING A KAYAK

Post by rayso »

I'd suggest dropping into your nearest Hobie dealer and discuss with them your expectations and go with their advice.
It's more fun doing it on a yak and even more fun with a sail
0429 622004
Wind Waker
Lord of the fish
kayak: Hobie Outback, Hobie PA14 MD180,

Post by Wind Waker »

rayso wrote:I'd suggest dropping into your nearest Hobie dealer and discuss with them your expectations and go with their advice.
We prefered seperate yaks - a hobie outback and a sport. Was great advice from our dealer (SLHobie). Then I don't have to compromise whe she doesn't come out :)

Book a demo and be guided by your dealer on what suits your situation best.
Live long, fish hard and hopefully catch something.
Steve_R
Square eyes
kayak: Hurricane Skimmer

Post by Steve_R »

I'd suggest working out whether you need foot power before letting a Hobie dealer convince you of the advantage of pedal power.

Make a rational decision, not an emotional decision. Start with the ideas:
- pedals will add $1000 to cost.
- pedals require maintenance.
- sitting pedalling can aggravate a sore back.
- pedalling may aggravate joint injuries in the legs