Native Watercraft Ultimate 14.5 Tandem

Got an review on your kayak? Post it here!
maxdangerous
Apprentice
kayak: Native Watercraft Ultimate 14.5 Tandem

Native Watercraft Ultimate 14.5 Tandem

Post by maxdangerous »

G'day fellas,
Just thought I'd share my thoughts on my new Ultimate 14.5 Tandem.
I went for the 14.5 because I'm a big bloke (6ft 115kg) and I wanted something that would carry that weight plus my gear easily, which it does. :up:
I reconfigured the seating as a solo, it will be for the majority of the time. Very easy to do and also very comfortable seat. I've a bit of a crook back (hence wanting to paddle around to try and strengthen my core in an enjoyable way) didn't get uncomfortable at all and both trips I spent roughly 5 hours in it and did a few kilometers.
I've had it out twice now on Lake Eildon and spent several hours fishing quite comfortably.
As for paddling around, I'm a complete novice but found it very easy to cruise along at a comfortable rate with no effort at all, the lake was very calm too which no doubt helped. (the only thing that required any effort was getting the water skiers to hear me swearing at them when they came too close.
I have the rudder system on order which will make it even better as I seam to subconsciously head straight for bridge pylons and trees :?
The advertising says that you can stand in it and fly cast, and they even show you a photo of a bloke doing that :shock: Now personally after having tried to do just that I think that the bloke in the photo doing that is either perched on a sand bank or a relative of yoda and is using the force. :wtf:
I had a go at just standing as I had to get up to put my fish in the bag at the front which you can't reach from a sitting position and I almost released the fish back into the water with me following close behind. :shhh:
Perhaps there might just be some practice required there.