PA 12 Vs PA 14

Got an review on your kayak? Post it here!
Yabbie
kayak: none

PA 12 Vs PA 14

Post by Yabbie »

HI Guys,
I will be buying a Yak shortly, although I have done plenty of fishing I have never used a kayak before, I am going to buy a PA, apart from the weight difference which doesnt bother me is the 12 better than the 14 or is it just personal preference, I will be using it in Port Phillip chasing snapper and whiting and also fly fishing for trout in the lakes, any info or opinions you guys could give me will be much appreciated, btw I have been a member for a while and have read a lot of what is on here although this is my 1st post, congrats on having a great site with such passionate members.
Cheers Yabbie
Kingo
Lord of the fish
kayak: Olive Hobie Pro Angler 12

Re: PA 12 Vs PA 14

Post by Kingo »

Hi Tim in case you haven't read it yet here's my review on the PA12 http://www.vyak.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11033

I have heard afew guys who have fished out of PA14s for the last few years and now changed to PA12s have noted the 12 handles chop better and turns much tighter, speed wise I don't think there is a lot of difference.
Most of my fishing is with plastics in the bay and the 12 is the perfect boat for this.
Im pretty sure the cockpit on the 12 is only 50mm shorter than the 14, the front hatch and rear cargo area on the 12 are quite abit smaller than the 14 but still have plenty of storage room.

Good luck with your decision mate
Babylon
Needs a life (forum tragic)
kayak: 2017 Hobie Revo 13, Hobie Compass Duo

Post by Babylon »

First of all welcome.