Re-yak

Got an review on your kayak? Post it here!
M_Wrigh
Apprentice
kayak: AquaYak Bigfish

Re-yak

Post by M_Wrigh »

So I am selling my little moster. I have been doing some research online and am thinking of a new yak, looking at the Aqua-Yak range, specifically the Scout. I was thinking I should go for something over 3 meters for better stability on the bay but not sure. With Aqua-Yak being made in hoppers crossing I would assume they are better suited to local conditions. Any advice??
Chevvy
Square eyes
kayak: Hobie PA14, Riot escape 12, Wavedance Calypso

Re: Re-yak

Post by Chevvy »

Aqua yak are relatively popular as are the wavedance range. I went through a few stores recently and never got as far as aqua yak after seeing the riot escape at Melbourne kayaks and buying it on the spot. It will depend a lot on where you want to fish and what you want to carry. I'm by no means a yak expert much more a beginner, but this is what I found when looking into buying one. My riot cost $899 new with rudder and seat, awesome value, I think yakgear has a bigfish he is doing up so specifically on the aqua yak range Might pay to throw him a pm.

All the best with the search mate
Salmon 50cm, squid 40cm, port Jackson 110cm, KGW 37cm, elephantfish 53cm, Snapper 53cm, ling 39cm
herbie
PHD in Yakology.
kayak: Stabicraft 1550 Fisher

Post by herbie »

Not entirely sure mate as there are a number of factors to take into account such as:

what you are intending to do with the yak
Your weight/height
Your strength (to lift the yak for transport)
How far are you intending to paddle/travel
Your budget

I dropped in to Aquayak over the weekend to look at their kayaks and overall I thought they were quite nice.

The key thing is to match the yak to your goals/circumstances such as some of those mentioned above and see what you come up with.