First post - roof topping

Questions new members commonly ask e.g. Which kayak should I buy?
bennymac
Apprentice
kayak: PA14

First post - roof topping

Post by bennymac »

Hello,

This is my first post here. I'm a yak noob. I've recently found myself a Hobie Pro Angler 14 and I'm absolutely loving it. I'm currently transporting it on a box trailer but it hangs over the back a fair bit and I'm not sure it is exactly legal. So I'm considering car topping it. I drive a POS falcon wagon. I have some Rhino roof racks (the kind that clamp up under the door sills). I’m considering getting the Rhino T-load system. I think it could be a good solution as once the kayak is on the roof it effectively provides a 3rd crossbar at the rear of the vehicle.

My questions to you experienced kayakers are;
Do any of you use the T-load system?
Do you have any general advice for car topping a PA14?
Cheers,
Ben
shane
Vyak Addict
kayak: Hobie AI, PA14, Quest and an ebay tandem

Re: First post - roof topping

Post by shane »

Welcome to VYAK. Make sure you have a good look around (especially the safety section) and introduce yourself.

I'd say your trailer overhang is definitely illegal if it's a standard box trailer. Have a search on here and you will find a couple of detailed threads that go through the legal requirements with trailers. A standard box trailer would need an extended draw bar and a load carrying point further forward to give you a legal overhang.