New and confused

Questions new members commonly ask e.g. Which kayak should I buy?
Howling1
kayak: Hobie

New and confused

Post by Howling1 »

Hey Guys, I'm new to the whole Kayak scene and was looking at buying a Hobie sport, I'm 5"8 at 75kg, I'm wondering if this kayak is a good purchase?http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/trafalga ... 1125523359
4liters
PHD in Yakology.
kayak: Native Watercraft Slayer 13, Stealth Fisha 500

Re: New and confused

Post by 4liters »

Probably depends on what you want to do with it
Howling1

Post by Howling1 »

bit of everything, estuary, lakes, bay.
i think i like the price of it being under $2000, I'm finding it hard to get a decent peddle setup, as it being my first yak I'm not wanting to spend loads of cash
laneends
Vyak Addict
kayak: Quests 11 13 Adventure 16 Revo 16 ORSki epic k1

Post by laneends »

Just be aware of its limitations once it gets lumpy on the bay. N older model outback would be a better alrounder for that price
Wind Waker
Lord of the fish
kayak: Hobie Outback, Hobie PA14 MD180,

Post by Wind Waker »

Just gotta be careful with a short yak in the wind but the sport is ok for your height and weight. My partner has one and its a ripper little thing when I use it. I wouldn't be going offshore and be careful about high winds as it won't track as well as a revo or outback.
Live long, fish hard and hopefully catch something.
Anthony
Qualified Fish Monger
kayak: Hobie PA12

Post by Anthony »

Might be a bit short for the bays, generally people recommend 12ft/3.6m or longer for bay work. You might be better off looking for an outback or revo if you want a pedal kayak. I've seen a few go for under $2000 but this time of year is when everyone is buying so it might be harder to find a good deal.
shane
Vyak Addict
kayak: Hobie AI, PA14, Quest and an ebay tandem

Post by shane »