Cape Woolamai/Cleeland Bight Fishing Tips for a Beginner

Questions new members commonly ask e.g. Which kayak should I buy?
Magpie_Mick
The force is strong in this one
kayak: Thresher 140

Cape Woolamai/Cleeland Bight Fishing Tips for a Beginner

Post by Magpie_Mick »

I am staying at Cape Woolamai next week and as I am new to Kayak fishing I am after a some beginners tips for fishing in the area. Where should a beginner launch from/start fishing and where should I avoid (from a safety perspective)?

Any suggestions for what species to target and what techniques would be most appreciated.

Regards,
Mick
cheaterparts
Needs a life (forum tragic)
kayak: Stealth Profisha 525 ---

Re: Cape Woolamai/Cleeland Bight Fishing Tips for a Beginner

Post by cheaterparts »

Magpie_Mick wrote:I am staying at Cape Woolamai next week and as I am new to Kayak fishing I am after a some beginners tips for fishing in the area. Where should a beginner launch from/start fishing and where should I avoid (from a safety perspective)?

Any suggestions for what species to target and what techniques would be most appreciated.

Regards,
Mick
Mick there are a couple of launches in Cleeland bight first off the end of cottosloe ave and the other off old bridge rd

theres a bit of tide flow in close to the channel - squid - whiting - and other species can be found in the area as can couta and pike

so you have options - bait fish - troll lures or give the squid a go
My kayak PBs
Gummy shark 128 Cm -- Elephant fish 85 Cm -- Snapper 91 Cm -- KG Whiting 49 Cm -- Flathead 55 Cm -- Garfish 47 Cm --Long tail Tuna 86 cm -- Silver Trevally 40 Cm -- Cobia 117 Cm -- snook 53 Cm -- Couta 71 Cm -- Squid 44 hood length

cheater
0402 208 657
4liters
PHD in Yakology.
kayak: Native Watercraft Slayer 13, Stealth Fisha 500

Post by 4liters »