Balnarring Saturday arvo

Questions new members commonly ask e.g. Which kayak should I buy?
nebben838
The force is strong in this one
kayak: hobie outback (seagrass green)

Balnarring Saturday arvo

Post by nebben838 »

Hey guys,
As I'm still new to the kayak scene I'm after some advice on fishing Balnarring ish...tomorrow arvo, I think high tide is around 1pm, winds a low an NW. Any tips on we're to launch what depths to fish. I'm not after any species in particular just hoping to catch any thing.

Cheers,
Ben.
shane
Vyak Addict
kayak: Hobie AI, PA14, Quest and an ebay tandem

Re: Balnarring Saturday arvo

Post by shane »

Best launch will be from the carpark at the end of Masonsmith Rd. Conditions should be very good for Saturday arvo/evening.

You will find there is a lot of heavy weed in close which can make bait fishing frustrating and cause a lot of snags with the swell. There are sand patches if you can find/see them that are better to fish in. I generally head about 2km a few degrees east of south from launch where the weed breaks down to large sandy areas that produce very well. However you should still find productive areas in closer, especially if you go a few hundred metres out. Trolling around small HB's should also produce snook and couta.
0408 565 763
nebben838

Post by nebben838 »

Thanks Shane
nebben838

Post by nebben838 »

Something I forgot to ask is if it's very weedy is ok for drift fishing as don't have an anchor yet? Or should I head somewhere else less weedy?
cheaterparts
Needs a life (forum tragic)
kayak: Stealth Profisha 525 ---

Post by cheaterparts »

nebben838 wrote:Something I forgot to ask is if it's very weedy is ok for drift fishing as don't have an anchor yet? Or should I head somewhere else less weedy?
weed and tide flow are not places to be drifting - pretty sure you will catch the bottom more than fish with out an anchor at Balnarring
My kayak PBs