SafeTrx App

SAFETY FIRST!! Please read as no fish is worth dying for.
djillusions24
Apprentice
kayak: JetOcean

SafeTrx App

Post by djillusions24 »

I administer the Coast Guard SafeTrx App (I work in IT), I note there is a post on the forums back from 2014 when we first launched the SafeTrx app but nothing since, so thought I would post some updated information.

SafeTrx is a mobile safety application provided for kayakers and boaters to be tracked while out on the water. The app was made originally for Coast Guard here in Australia and is 100% free, its not available in a heap of countries around the world through various marine rescue organisations. VMR Queensland have also partnered up with us to deliver the app to the public.

The app is monitored 24/7 by Coast Guard with various escalation checks in place for when a vessel is overdue based on their ETA or sets off the emergency activation.

Basically you enter your sail plan, with waypoints and end point, people on board, description of the vessel, photo of the vessel, emergency contacts and hit start. You can choose to notify your emergency contacts, the app will send them a SMS with a link to view your location in real-time (we have also just released Facebook sharing for trips). Our operators can see where you are including your details, emergency contact, photo of the vessel (which is super helpful when we need to find you) and some information about your phone such as signal strength and battery.

The system tells us if your battery is running low, if you go out of phone reception the app will cache the infromation locally and submit it when reception becomes available.

Trips are all saved in the app, you can view them on the web too. Attached a screenshot of one of my trips for reference.