Hi from Werribee

New? Say G'Day here!
Dublediff
kayak: Hobie PA14

Hi from Werribee

Post by Dublediff »

G'day yakkers. I am new to the world of real yaks. I had an inflatable for some time but decided that hooks and air bags don't mix. I now have a PA14. Went straight to the big guns on recommendation of a good friend who had been using the same for a couple of years. Sorted it all out with the rear milk crate box for my tackle and bucket for all of the fish, anchor, extra rod holders etc. Fitted a 12v gauge and extra usb and cig points to charge the phone, etc etc. New fish finder. Ready to go. Oh oh, these things are heavy aren't they? :oops: Well it is for me getting it onto the roof of my landcruiser. As a result I don't use it as much as I should and will probably look at an outback or maybe even the new compass. It is a shame because my PAA is so stable I can stand and cast all day and practically have boat party on the deck there is so much room. I mentioned the weight to my 'good friend' and he said he didn't take his out anymore because it was too heavy, doh! I suppose it comes with age, we both have our seniors cards, :P . Anyway, love the forum and the tips, keep them coming and tight lines. Here is my rig. I bought the trailer to make it easier to transport the yak, but now my car has to stay out in the rain, :roll:
Attachments
hobie PA14 (1 of 19).jpg
Galey
Lord of the fish
kayak: Ok Frenzy

Re: Hi from Werribee

Post by Galey »

G’day Eric, welcome to the forum mate. Look forward to reading some reports on your adventures.
peatop
PHD in Yakology.
kayak: dune PA14

Post by peatop »

Welcome Eric, enjoy you stay, the guys here are very helpful and knowledgeable ;) there are also a lot of them that fish around your area. The main thing is stay safe while having fun so please take the time to read the safety sections.
Mob no: 0401580668