New angler

New? Say G'Day here!
Kamaukid
kayak: Osprey fishing kayak

New angler

Post by Kamaukid »

Hi all, I'm new to kayak fishing and wondering if anyone knows any spots in werribee south? Im gonna try this Sat if anyone is keen for a early morning blast.
laneends
Vyak Addict
kayak: Quests 11 13 Adventure 16 Revo 16 ORSki epic k1

Re: New angler

Post by laneends »

Welcome and dont forget to read the safety section first up, and secondly first thing you should do if you haven't been in a kayak before is to take it ou empty and prcatice, especially getting in and out of it in deep water.

As far as fishing WS is concerned given you only have a short kayak ( I think?), dont go too far out and be wary of Easterly winds coming off the bay as they can make it very bumpy. best options is to fish the shallows either side of the entrance for flathead, whiting, and squid. It can get very shallow on the low especially on the southern side.

Its an easy launch straight from car park into estuary. may need to get there early on weekends to get a spot, and watch out for the boats

Enjoy
vicyak
Lord of the fish
kayak: Hobie PA 14

Post by vicyak »

Lots of people here who fish Campbells Cove and Werribee South including me.

Make sure you read the safety section and also read up on wind forecasts. North winds are the best but also be aware of northerlies 15knots+ as they can cause you major troubles as it seems calm from the shoreline. A lot of people get into trouble on offshore winds. Easterlies to SE winds are shocking in that area. I tend not to go out in them.

Highly recommend going for flathead and squid at the moment. Good numbers around.
Kamaukid

Post by Kamaukid »

Thanks for the feed back, I took it out a couple times already to test the stability of thekayak and it was great, I just took out a rod with a softball and surprise i got nothing, But it was rough so I didn't stay out for long or go too far.
vicyak
Lord of the fish
kayak: Hobie PA 14