I need an anchor. what to get?

Show off your DIY project!
jonesy46
kayak: Malibu X factor

I need an anchor. what to get?

Post by jonesy46 »

hey,
Novice here. I discovered I need an anchor after fishing at Shoreham the other day.
There are heaps on ebay and BCF have some.
My question is what type to use? sand anchor or the grapple hook type? Where to put it?
Your ideas or pictures greatly appreciated.
shane
Vyak Addict
kayak: Hobie AI, PA14, Quest and an ebay tandem

Re: I need an anchor. what to get?

Post by shane »

You will find opinions split between a grapnel or a cooper. The majority would use a 1.5kg grapnel for PPB and slower areas of WP but a 2.5kg grapnel if you will be in higher flow areas. Search around here and you will find a lot of info on setups, storage etc. Generally you will need the anchor, at least 1m of heavy chain joined to the anchor at the bottom with a break-away (cable tie) at the top. Then you need 3-5 times the depth you will anchor in for rope (3-4mm smooth poly rope) attached to the chain by a rotating shackle and then stored on a large spool or similar.

Research anchor attachment to the yak carefully. For WP you will probably use an anchor trolley with a ring on it then loop the anchor rope through the ring and connect to that yak using a cleat. This allows you to anchor with the line off the trolley at the rear, then release the line and move the line to the front to allow you to retrieve the anchor line facing into the flow. AVoid clipping directly to the anchor trolley with a fixed loop on the line as this can lead to getting stuck side on in higher current flows - dangerous.
0408 565 763
cheaterparts
Needs a life (forum tragic)
kayak: Stealth Profisha 525 ---

Post by cheaterparts »

Like shane said a 1.5 Kg folding anchor will do you in most places both WP and PPB - in higher tide flows though I like a few others use a 2.5 kg with some chain along the rope